Eloyda's New York Blog


Hull House
June 11, 2009, 4:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

 Hull House 015

Yeah! I can blog from the 2nd floor laundry room! 

Great, even the University Center discriminates against women. 

 And that is probably a very appropriate way to start today’s blog reguarding Hull House  and Jane Addams.  Jane Addams was a remarkable women and in spite of the social work degree I hold from CSU in Fort Collins, I’m embarrassed to admit that I knew very little about her before today.  In a world that was dominated by males who felt that women’s only responsibilities were cooking, cleaning and caring for the children, she and other women working with her reversed the “domestic sphere a public one.  She took the role prescribed to women and used it for the public good.  I stand in awe of anyone who has that kind of conviction and drive. 

I know how difficult it is as a female to have a family when you spend long hours caring for other people’s need, other people’s children (like teachers do).  As we saw with Lucy Parsons, her family was second to her cause.  I admire Jane Addams and think that she made another very responsible choice to not have her own children when she was a champion to plenty of others. 

As far as the “Lesbian debate” it really pissed me off.  Why is it that anyone is wasting their time on that point when there are so many other more meaningful debates.  This kind of debate is just not important when you weight it against the fact that her Hull Houe projects changed the lives of so many people.  I would never bring this up to my students not matter what the age group.  I just feel like it detracts from the more significant contributions that were made. 

I thought I’d share these great pictures.

Happy to serve others

Happy to serve others

 

Hull House 011Hull House 010


A nice surprise
June 11, 2009, 6:44 am
Filed under: Uncategorized
Frank Lloyd Wright Studio and Museum

Frank Lloyd Wright Studio and Museum

I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed the Frank Lloyd Wright Museum and walking tour.  I was also excited to see how much there was that I could share with my students (Probably not in history except for a name, but definitely in math).  With the many pictures that I took I could work on symmetry, patterning, horizontal and vertical lines and repetition.  I could also use these for art and give students the task of being an architect and creating their pictures of homes that they create. 

At the Museum of Art and Industry there was much more than I was able to fit into the hour that was allotted us.  The section that I enjoyed the most was “Yesterday’s Main Street” and the Genetics display.  Although there was way too much information from our presenters on the World Fair for my second graders, I did get a lot of interesting facts that I could share with them.  I also took many pictures and by Tomie DePaola where its main character visits the 1893 World’s Fair.   My students never have any idea what this is and the only point of reference that they have is the state fair.  I am now going to take our social studies standard of ‘then and now’ and use the World Fair as an example.  For the ‘now’ I will have students create their own World Fair and decide what should be included.



DBQ
June 11, 2009, 6:37 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

This was one of the more difficult learning days for me because the DBQ is geared towards intermediate and secondary education.  I did however, really like the outline for using documents to investigate history.  I think that this can be done with a more simplified outline and questions. 

A child's tea set sitting on a window ledge

A child's tea set sitting on a window ledge

4 boxes of penny nails

4 boxes of penny nails

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the afternoon we were able to see the destruction caused by the Chicago fire.  The picture of the Palmer house before and after the fire shows the elegance and devastation that the fire caused.  The other shows the magnificent job of rebuilding that was done after the fire.  These pictures and the pictures that I took of the artifacts that were shared with us would be great to show kids the devastation that fire can cause.



Discovering Chicago
June 11, 2009, 6:30 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Chicago5 003Chicago5 008

Today I truly discovered the “Windy City”, the “Second City” and the “City of Big Shoulders” (as described by Carl Sandburg).  After my terrifying first ride on the subway I walked to Chicago History Museum next to Cody, a native Chicagoan, who boasted about his beloved Chicago.  He maneuvered through town with such confidence while this small town girl followed hoping not to take a wrong turn and get lost while taking pictures so that I could document my adventure and share my new transportation experiences with my students from rural Pueblo, Colorado.  The beautiful buildings, the Navy Peer and Lake Michigan were definitely sights to be proud of.   

We later learned from Dr. Sarah Marcus at the History Museum about the many ways that Chicago citizen tried to make their city become the best city in America before and after the Chicago fire.  The events that occurred in Chicago at the turn of the century and the resources that were shared with us really deepened my understanding of the Haymarket, the Chicago fire and the riots of 1919.  Later, Heidi Moisan shared with us another great site to help engage students in the history of Chicago through narratives.  The follow-up activity of “historical heads” is one I could use with the book Abe Lincoln: The Boy Who Loved Books  that I picked up in Springfield.

My favorite toy!

My favorite toy!

Chicago5 030

Walking through the museum I discovered more about the tragedies, crime and corruption that might make Chicago a scary place to visit.  I also saw the diversity that makes the people who live here so difference, strange and unique.  I experienced the richness of the cultures, fashion and talent.  I felt the indulgences and greed.  And finally, I revisited memories from my childhood and realized how much Chicago’s industry contributed to the world.