Eloyda's New York Blog


Art Everywhere
June 8, 2009, 3:56 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Chicagoday2ArtInstitute 040Chicagoday2ArtInstitute 024Chicagoday2ArtInstitute 028

"There is no reason to look back.  You're not headed that way."

"There is no reason to look back. You're not headed that way."

 

“There is art everywhere” was the theme for the day for me and that is what I hope to pass on the students who enter into my classroom. 

I started out my day with a visit with my nephew and his wife.  They had breakfast waiting for me in their beautiful house that they are restoring on the south part of town (Bronzeville).  Their house has  incredible restained wooden beams are definitely art. 

After we finished there we took a ride to President Obama’s house in Hyde Park and then to the 57Th Street Art Show.  There I found several amazing artists there.  The showed off their talent in a variety of ways.  I especially liked the three paintings above.  In the classroom I could use them to write narratives (especially the one of the girl on the beach by an artist named Zhiyi Li), or students could try to picture of the painted hands using their own hands.  (The artist, Greg Davis, used this picture on his business card with the caption below it on the reverse side of his card. Even his business card could be considered art.) Finally, William Cowherd used his art to advertise his art.  Hot only his face was art but also the words at the bottom of the page.

At the Art Institute of Chicago there were too many incredible pieces to mention.  This O’Keefe painting was probably my favorite.  The varying colors of yellow  and the shapes might be something that kids could attempt to reproduce.  They may also be encouraged to use more common natural surrounding for their own art.   Chicagoday2ArtInstitute 045


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment